Poui Tree

Chennette experimenting with her blog

Gulab Jamoon Recipe

Posted by chennette on February 4, 2007

trini gulab jamoonThis is Trini Gulab Jamoon. I say “Trini” because I have had gulab jamoon in Indian restaurants in the UK and from friends in Barbados etc where their gulab jamoon was more like our ras goolah. Fried balls served or soaked in a syrup. This is fried balls of rich dough yes, but glazed with sugar, not soaked. Traditionally made in elongated ovoid shapes (see Trini Gourmet’s recipe or this picture from my brother’s wedding boxes, for the more usual shape). However, since I am not good at that shape, I make little balls. Cute and easy to eat.

This is my mother’s recipe as given to us all. Mom makes a really rich soft gulab jamoon that’s nothing like kurma. Which is why I never understood when people would call gulab jamoon the “big kurma”. Kurma is doughy and can be either thin and crispy or big and fluffy. Gulab Jamoon is rich and dense and sweet even without the sugar glaze. But the connection is there certainly, so doh mind me and my pickiness. It is still fried dough :-) with sugar all over it. Of course this isn’t entirely traditional as it uses an icing sugar glaze rather than the regular sugar paag used in most indian sweets. But, trust me, icing sugar glaze dries faster and more evenly. Just a different look.

Gulab Jamoon

Ingredients:

* 1 tin condensed milk

* 8 ounces margarine (softened)

* 1 1/2 pounds flour – about 3 cups

* 1/2 tsp each ground cinnamon, elaichi (cardamom)

* 1 pinch ground cloves

* oil for frying

Sugar Glaze

* 12 oz icing sugar

* 1/4 cup hot water at a time

Method:

1. Mix condensed milk and margarine with spices until mixture is smooth.

2. Add 2 cups of flour and mix well and then add the final cup a little at a time in case all is not needed – it is important to keep the dough soft and not dry and cracking.

Note: flour content depends on humidity etc – I used a little less in Scotland, whereas you usually need the full amount in T&T. Do not add any water and knead well and cover with a damp cloth to keep it from drying out.

Wedding Sweets3. Make into balls and then make into an elongated oval shape before deep frying on a medium heat. Keep dough covered at all time with the damp cloth. (Alternatively, shape into round balls.)

4. Make sugar glaze by mixing together half the icing sugar and 1/4 cup water. Add more water and icing sugar as needed. It’s easier to glaze and quicker to dry when the glaze is hot/warm.

5. Dip the gulab jamoon into the glaze and lay out on baking sheets or waxed paper to dry.

Makes around 65.

_______________________________________
Thin Kurma
[October 25 2007 – I have a photo now of thin, or hard kurma, in case anyone is interested (like burekaboy asking here). I will try to get a photo of fat or soft kurma for more reference :-) And I guess at some point maybe a recipe. Especially for Mom’s almond kurma – light, fluffy and nutty!]

20 Responses to “Gulab Jamoon Recipe”

  1. I like the name of the recipe. Gulab Jamoon. :-)

  2. ooo icing sugar? interesting! i like the big snowy clumps tho :D i always heard it as soft kurma and the sticks as hard kurma.. so i was calling it soft kurma for a long time til i heard/saw the term goolab jamoon :D i felt like i had been tricked! :( welcome back!! :D i trying ras gullah sometime in the future :D

  3. chennette said

    yes – I do like big snow clumps on kurma, because the soft kurma dough is usually less sweet (there is such a thing as soft kurma and it is supposed to be different from gulab jamoon), but Mom’s gulab jamoon is so rich, I even eat it WITHOUT any glaze :-)

  4. Lilandra said

    tastes so good without glaze and hot!

  5. burekaboy said

    ok, what’s kurma?? the first time i saw them the trinidadian way was through sarina. was news to me…. both yours and sarina’s look so good. will have to try making them this way. i just don’t associate them (yet) as G J without the syrup!

  6. chennette said

    This is the crispy kurma here. But the soft kurma is also made in Guyana and called methai (or something like that) and is usually cut off a long fat tube of dough then fried, and sugared. But flavoured with clove and cardamom as well.

  7. kurma is love

  8. chennette said

    yes – mom has made an almond kurma – the soft kind – so good. The texture of the soft kurma (not the gulab jamoon) is almost like a challah bread I think – or a brioche (at least the way Mom makes kurma) – what say you Niki?

  9. i think i need to taste your soft kurma :D

  10. trinimom said

    you must try the gulab jamoon covered with chocolate glaze and rolled in sprinkles and also the stuffed gulab jamoon; Lilandra likes them stuffed with pitted prunes and I like them stuffed with pitted dates. But the others in our family do not like them stuffed.
    Try and enjoy.

  11. Mani said

    Oh gosh, Chennette, yuh talking my thing.

    Sorry for being a bad fellow blogger recently. I see you tagged me in your post about weird food facts. Is it too late to answer?

  12. chennette said

    never too late – I’ve been offline alot in the past month, so I didn’t get to follow up properly on these things :-) you’re still welcome to join in!

  13. sounds good mom! :D this blog is bad for my weight :D

  14. Marsha said

    OH My!
    More sweet desserts to tempt me..Can anyone say soft kurma and donuts!!!!!!!:)

  15. chennette said

    :-) Mom always said gulab jamoon was like an Indian donut…mmm…

  16. Rone said

    I must admit that all this talk of gulab jamoon and the difference between it has made me feel for kurma…so when are you going to share a nice kurma recipe…I’ll admit though I’d prefer it if you just shared the kurma :)

  17. Rone said

    i meant to say the difference between it and kurma and ras gullah has made me feel for kurma

  18. chennette said

    Someone’s offering to share kurma? They do that at weddings and stuff. :-) In little bags all prettied up.
    When next I wing my way to Jamaica I’ll make sure I walking with some kurma.
    Welcome to posting :-)

  19. […] One Sweet to Rule Them All … October 10th, 2007 — chennette Which shall it be? Gulab Jamoon, Sawine, Barfi, Nankathai, Halwa, Maleeda?cake and cookies? ice cream? currants […]

  20. […] We didn’t do some of the more traditional dishes or sweets that our family generally prepares (gulab jamoon, barfi etc) since it was not going to be a big Eid for us this year. […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

